When practicing Eagle Pose Garudasana we are presented with a controlled set of challenges (balance, focus, compression, heat, discomfort) and we have a choice with how we respond to these challenges.  We can resist and flee, or we can embrace what is and steady our mind and our breath.  We then have the opportunity to transfer these skills we develop on the mat to our life beyond the mat.  We become more engaged in the present moment and less resistant to the unexpected bumps that life throws our way.


Eagle Pose or Garudasana (gah-rue-DAHS-ana)

  • From Chair Pose, inhale bring your right knee in line with your left hip and reach your arms overhead into single leg Mountain Pose/Tadasana.
  • Exhale, level your hips and root down into your standing leg.
  • Sweep your right arm under your left, wrap your forearms and bring your palms to touch while you cross your right leg over your left (single bind) and wrap your right toes behind your left calf (double bind) to create Eagle Pose.
  • Zip your naval and ribs upward and inward toward your spine.
  • Release your shoulders down your back and spin your palms to face each other.
  • Draw your elbows in line with your shoulders.
  • Continue to engage your abdominal wall and tuck your tailbone down.
  • Inhale to create length through your spine.
  • Exhale as you sink deeper into your seat and hug your inner thighs together.
  • Extend your heart upward.
  • Gaze straight ahead (between your forearms) or close your eyes (for an extra balance challenge).
  • Hold and breathe for 5-10 rounds of breath.
  • Unravel and repeat on the other side.


  • For individuals with limited shoulder mobility, grab your shoulders and cross your forearms for a bear hug.
  • For individuals building strength and balance, kickstand your lifted leg rather than crossing it over your standing leg.



  • Opens the back of the body, posterior chain.
  • Strengthens glutes, legs, ankles and abdominals.
  • Improves flexibility in hips and shoulders.


  • Cultivates focus and concentration.

Chakra (Energetic Body)

  • Garudasana energizes our root chakra (also known as Muladhara). This is the first of 7 main chakras in the energetic body, located at the base of our spine.  The color of this chakra is red.  Muladhara represents our most basic need for home, stability, safety, and connectedness.  When we unite with our root chakra we become more grounded and balanced.
  • Eagle Pose also taps into our fourth chakra, Anahata. This chakra is located at our heart center.  The color of this chakra is green.  The essence of this chakra is selflessness.  Ahahata is the bridge between our lower three chakras and our upper three chakras – where the “me” becomes “we”.  When we stimulate the fourth chakra, we realize the connectedness between ourselves and all beings.  We become more receptive to love and find peace in the present moment.


  • Eagle Pose Garudasana provides an intense compression in both the upper and lower body. When we unravel from Eagle, the compression is released and our bodies feels liberated and unrestricted.  Waves of freedom and exhilaration wash over our body and soul.


Coach Jentry


Gumsaba Fitness Class schedule Monday 7/4/16

6:30AM Free to Sweat – Coach Michelle – Oak Hill Park in Danville