Today we’re revisiting Dancer’s Pose.  This back-bending, heart-opening, hip-extending, soul-freeing pose requires a steady gaze and a calm mind.  Practice this pose with patience and mindfulness, and overtime you will gain more confidence and appreciation for your truly amazing body.



Dancer’s Pose or Natarajasana (not-ah-raj-AHS-ana)

  • Inhale into Mountain Pose.
  • Exhale bring your right elbow to your right side body. Keep your left arm extended overhead (with your palm facing your midline).
  • Bring your weight into your left leg, and root down into all four corners of your left foot.
  • Kick your right heel toward your glutes.
  • Align your knees and hug your inner thighs toward your midline.
  • Level your hips – notice if your right hip is lifted higher than your left.
  • Reach your right arm back and grab the big toe side of your right foot.
  • Inhale to lengthen through the crown of your head.
  • Exhale, hinge forward form your hips as you press your right foot into your right hand.
  • Lift up and out of your chest.
  • Hug your shoulder blades together.
  • Engage your abdominal muscles.
  • Gaze forward. Find one point of focus, your drishti, to help you maintain your concentration and balance.
  • Hold for 5-10 rounds of extended ujjayi breath.
  • Repeat on the other side.



  • Keep your heel hugged into your glutes, align your knees and continue to lift your chest as a stretch your quads on your lifted leg. Repeat with the other leg lifted.  This is a great way to lengthen your spine, challenge your balance and stretch your legs and hip flexors.



  • Develops strength and flexibility in your lumbar spine.
  • Stretches hip flexors, shoulders and chest.
  • Improves core strength.



  • Stimulates concentration and focus.
  • Promotes a patient, calm, still mind.
  • Fosters confidence and creativity.



  • When you come into Dancer’s Pose, you energize a few key chakras. The first chakra activated is your root chakra (also known as Muladhara).  This is the first of 7 main chakras in the energetic body, located at the base of your spine.  The color of this chakra is red.  This chakra represents our most basic need for home, stability, safety, and connectedness.
  • Since Dancer’s ignites the muscles in your abdominal wall and your spine, this pose also invigorates your third chakra, Manipura. This chakra is located at the navel, just above the solar plexus.  The lumbar spine (lower back), abdominal wall and internal organs (including liver, stomach, spleen, and pancreas) are key players in this chakra.  The color of this chakra is yellow and the essence of this chakra is fire.  “Activation of the Manipura Chakra frees one from negative energies and purifies and strengthens one’s vitality.”
  • Because Dancer’s serves as a heart opener, you energize your fourth chakra, also known as Anahata. The essence of this chakra is selflessness, the element is air, and the color of this chakra is green.  Anahata governs our compassion, empathy, altruism, and respect for all life.  This chakra is the root of love and kindness.  It’s where we shift from “me” to “we” in our energetic body.



  • Unite with your breath, disengage from your thoughts and ignite your inner fire. This is the catalyst for uplifting your spirit and exciting your soul.



Coach Jentry


Gumsaba Fitness Class schedule Monday 10/31/16

5:30AM Sunrise Danville Womens only class – Coach Michelle – Spooktastic Halloween!

5:30AM Sunrise Danville Mens only class – Coach Joel – HIIT MONDAY

6AM Sunup Moraga Womens only Class – Coach James – HIIT MONDAY

8:15AM Sunshine Moraga Womens only Class – Coach Michelle& Coach Kristen – Spooktastic Halloween!

9AM Sunshine Walnut Creek Womens only class – Coach James – HIIT MONDAY

11:00AM Cytosport All Levels Cardio Kickboxing – Coach Michelle (private class)

11:30AM Cytosport All Levels Trigger Point Rolling – Coach Michelle (private class)

12:00PM Cytosport All Levels HIIT – Coach James (private class)

2PM Cytosport Hatha Yoga – Coach Michelle D. (private class)